Tag! I’m it.

JK-FlexRear

With another wheelin’ trip in the books I’ve managed to keep my streak of vehicular damage umbroken!  This time, I’ve broken off the rear license plate bracket.  I’m just guessing, but I’m fairly certain it happened when I came down off of this rock you see under my rear driver side tire.  The hit was hard enough that the bumper flexed briefly and pushed up on the bracket cracking the OEM plastic.

Initially, I ordered a JKS Spare Tire Mount License Plate Bracket as a replacement but unfortunately, my ARB tire carrier just wouldn’t play nice.  The way the bolt patterns lined up on the carrier and the bracket would have put the license plate at a 90 degree angle from where it’s supposed to be.  Yeah, I could have built some right angle brackets or re-drilled the mounting holes for my bolt pattern buuuuut… No.  The OEM replacement from Omix-Ada was cheap and an easy fix.

For less than $30, I picked up the Omix-Ada 11233.07 License Plate Bracket which was an exact replacement for the OEM bracket.  It didn’t come with any mounting hardware, but luckily I still had the four 7mm bolts so the swap was pretty easy.  The only negative thing I’ll say is that the kit doesn’t include any bolts or the light bulb housing.  It includes the license plate bulb and wiring, but make sure you save/reuse the housing from your OEM unit if you go this route.

As far as things to break go, this was a damn easy one to fix!  4 bolts, 1 clip and it’s looking good as new.

Leave a Reply

