The Fiddy!

As you may have noticed, I love lights.  I loooove lights!  Based on this shameless love, it was only a matter of time before I slapped on a 50″ light bar.  On one sunny day, I finally plunked down the money on a set of bare brackets from Poison Spyder and picked up a 50″ light bar from Aurora LED.  The light bar, much like my other Aurora LED lights, is well constructed and incredibly bright.  I couldn’t wait to get everything installed, but first to the paint shop!

PS-Bracket-1PS-Bracket-2PS-Bracket-350-1

The paint came out really nicely matching my PSC OEM paint code almost perfectly.  I know, most folks want to run black brackets, but that’s just not the look I’m going for here.  The fit of the Poison Spyder brackets is pretty good, but getting the gasket to play nice was nothing short of a complete pain in the a$$ and as a side note, you’ll need longer screws for the front two OEM bolt holes if you plan to run pod lights as well.  The OEM bolts will work if you only want to run the brackets or the pod lights, not both.  You can either swing by Fastenal or ping Poison Spyder for a set of longer bolts.
50-2

Nothing has been wired yet, but it has been bolted on and the fit is fantastic!
50-3

I love this pic, look at that color match!
50-4

Doesn’t it look pretty?
50-5

As much as I loved the look and the light output, I hated the wind noise even more.  Is this one of the best kept secrets of Jeeping?  The first rule of 50″ light bar is you NEVER talk about 50″ light bar!  Or just how bloody loud it is on the highway?  Perhaps soft top owners don’t notice it as much, but with how quiet the new hard top is, I found it to be incredibly annoying.  I started to design some sort of wing (a little plexiglass sticking out the back of the light) to help limit the turbulence, but in the end I decided to remove the entire set up.  Yeah, it was short lived and I still miss it sometimes but I think I made the right call.

Damn…  That light bar really did look amazing on my rig.

Leave a Reply

