We don’t need no stinking doors!

One of the absolutely coolest things about the Wrangler is that it’s just about the only vehicle on the market that you can easily remove the doors.  I’ve always said, and I stand by this to this day, A Jeep with no doors and no top is as close as you can get to the feeling of riding a motorcycle with out actually being on a bike.  Whether you are cruising around town or enjoy the killer visibility on off-road trails, taking the doors off can be a lot of fun!  But one thing you’ll need (on the roads at least) is a set of rear view mirrors.

As you scour the market for mirrors, you’ll find no shortage of options.  Some bolt into the door jam, some relocate the OEM mirror onto the a-pillar, and others add on a permanent mirror that you can pivot out of the way. One unique option that I stumbled on and really liked was the Die-Tech Off-Road mirror bracket.  It’s a fairly simple bracket that attaches an OEM mirror to the body in 2 points.  Those two points are what gives it much more stability and reduces vibration vs. something like a set of Safari mirrors.

DieTechBracket6DieTechBracket5DieTechBracket7DieTechBracket8

I chose to pick up an extra set of mirrors instead of pulling off my door mirrors every time I wanted to pull the doors.  I didn’t need anything super fancy, so I hit up ebay and found a pair of OEM style power mirrors from Kool-Vue for a very reasonable price.

DieTechBracket1DieTechBracket2DieTechBracket3

My master plan was to have power mirrors even though I had no doors b/c, come on it’s always easier to push a button to move the mirror than to have someone stand there while you say “a little to the left.  Ok, now a little to the right.”

The wiring on the mirror is pretty simple, one ground wire and 4 directional wires inside a harness.  The tricky part was getting a connection piece to line up with the OEM harness.  I scoured the internet high and low, but the best I could find was either buying an entire door harness or having a plastics company build me 2 clips.  With either option winding up in the $100 range, I decided to table this plan for now and just ziptie the loose cable to the mirror bracket.

DieTechBracket4

In order to fit the control wires through the bracket, I cut a crude template out of cardboard and drilled a little hole.  I picked up some nice grommets, but when I installed both it felt a bit like overkill so I just stuck with the HD plastic tubing instead.

DieTechBracket9DieTechBracket10

With the brackets prepped, I assembled the mirrors to the brackets (2 screws) and proceeded to pull my doors for the very first time.  If it’s also your first time pulling the doors, prepare to use some muscle to remove these guys.  There are pinch collars on the door bolts that you can’t see or access until after you remove the doors.  Be gentle, yet firm and take your time to prevent any scratches.

DieTechBracket12

Thanks of my excitement of finally getting my doors off, I didn’t actually take ANY pictures of my Jeep with all the doors off.  The only picture I did take is below to compare the position of the factory mirror to where the Die-Tech Mirror bracket places the mirror.  Can you guess which is factory and which is the bracket?

DieTechBracket13

Give up?  The driver side is factory and the passenger side has the mirror bracket installed with no door.  There’s been a debate about how closely these brackets place your mirrors back to the the original position… And that is pretty damn close!  There is only about a 1-2″ difference in height of the factory mirror.

In the end, whatever mirror route you choose, pull those doors off and go for a ride.  It’s a blast!

Leave a Reply

