It really does suck!

When I picked up my new GoPro, I also picked up this suction mount to use when I’m on the road or on the trail.  So far, I’m fairly pleased with it.  I tested it first on smooth roads around town at speeds up to 50mph with no problems but the real test was a full day of off-roading and rock crawling.

Despite feeling a little silly, I cleaned the drivers side doors in the parking lot of the off-road park using Waterless Car Wash & Wax from Chemical Guys.  I didn’t want there to be any water spots at the start of the day for the shot.  Any mud that came later was welcome but I wanted the shot to start with a clean slate.
Image

With the doors all cleaned up, I attached the mount to the side of the body behind the door and set off.  To keep an eye on things, I tilted my drivers mirror all the way down till I could see the camera and let me tell you, 10 hours of wheelin’ later it hadn’t budged!  When I removed the suction mount, there was nothing but clean paint underneath.
Image

My only complaint is that it is a little tricky to get exactly the angle you want. I wish this mount came with a way to rotate just the camera end of the mount 360* but as far as suction and keeping the camera steady, this mount does a great job!  I’m looking forward to trying a different angle on my next trip.

Leave a Reply

