I can see clearly now…

In my continued quest to light up the world with my JK, I’ve decided to add a set of lights to my a-pillar. I read a metric ton of posts on LED’s/brackets/companies and since I’ve already got 2 sets of Rigids on my rig, my first inclination was to go back to them. I really like the RI light bracket for a set of Dually’s, but unfortunately the design does not allow for any lateral alignment. Did I mention how much I like it? Damn!

GreenRIJK

For that reason, and for that reason alone I had to find myself a different bracket. All the other designs are just about the same, one bend and two bolt holes. I’ve had good luck with Rock Hard 4×4 products thus far in my build, so I picked up a set of their brackets for this job. I conveniently stumbled across a group purchase with a few other light obsessed Jeepers around the same time and plunked down some money on a set of ALO2-P4T spots from Aurora LED rated at 3200 Lumens each. I don’t know a lot about this company, so I was a little reluctant at first but the price lured me in to try them. After receiving my order, my worries were put to rest. The housing is very sturdy, the wiring connections are excellent, and the pig tails are plenty long enough to tuck them out of the way.

AuroraSpotUnboxed

The bracket install is pretty straight forward, simply pull two bolts from the a-pillar, pop the gasket on, then the bracket and tighten it all back up. Unfortunately, the light brackets didn’t line up very well. I don’t know if I got a defective piece or the holes weren’t drilled properly, but mine sits fairly crooked. I’ve contacted RockHard4x4 about it, but as of this posting I haven’t heard anything back. In the image below, the green line signifies where they are supposed to line up (just like the ones from KC or Poison Spyder do), the blue line is where they fall naturally, and the red line is how far up you can push them. However, when you push them up to get them close, then you expose the bolt hole in the a-pillar.

RockhardBracket

The wiring is fairly straightforward, pull the hood cowl (be gentle with those star screws) and tuck the wiring out of the way. I’m connecting mine to my sPod so all the switches are already in place. All in all, I’m very happy with these lights. They are extremely powerful, they look good, and are really easy on the wallet when compared to Rigid equivalents.

PillarLightsInstalled

Leave a Reply

